Call Us at 888-550-8728

How do I delete or remove old saved networks on my computer?

This article applies to all series products on all firmware versions.

Overview:

Most Windows and Mac OSX computers will automatically save the wireless network it has connected to for quick/automatic connection to that network the next time you are in range of that wireless network.  The user, you, can also tell the computer to save your network and automatically reconnect.

If you change any of the WiFi settings in the router, ie- SSID, WiFi Channel, Security Mode, your computer will need to update the settings for your network.  If your network is saved in the computer, it will complain when you attempt to reconnect to router because the network settings have now changed.  For you to reconnect to your network after the router changes, you must delete your old network so your computer can update the settings for the router as it stands now.  Here’s how you do this:

Resolution:

WINDOWS XP –

  1. Click on the Start Menu and select Control Panel  
  2. Click Network Connections, right-click on Wireless Network Connections
  3. Now select View Available Wireless Network Connections
  4. Click the Change Order of Preferred Networkson the left hand side on the box
  5. Go to the Wireless Networks tab, find your wireless network, left-click on the network (it will highlight it) and click Remove.


WINDOWS VISTA –

  1. Open the Start Menu and then Control Panel
  2. Click Network and Internet, then Network and Sharing Center
  3. Click Manage Wireless Networks on the left hand side
  4. Find your network in the list, right click it, and select Remove Network.


WINDOWS 7 –

  1. Open the Start Menu and then Control Panel
  2. Click Network and Internet, then Network and Sharing Center
  3. Click Manage Wireless Networks on the left hand side
  4. Find your network in the list, right click it, and select Remove Network.


WINDOWS 8-

  1. Open the list of WiFi Networks
  2. Right click on the network, and select Forget Network


MAC OS –

  1. Open System Preferences and then Network
  2. Click Airport, then Advanced 
  3. Select the network you want to remove and press the ( — ) minus button


Now you should be able to connect to your router/network.


← FAQs